About, History

St Nics - Spring

St Nicholas, Thames Ditton is a Church of England parish in the Diocese of Guildford.

St Nicholas Church was originally a long narrow Norman building from the Bell Tower to the 

Chancel. The tower walls and the north wall of the chancel are part of the original Norman structure 

and contain lancet windows. 

Additions came with a 14th century chapel on the north and a 15th century north aisle. The vestry was originally a burial vault built in 1676. The north aisle was enlarged in 1836 and a south aisle added in 1864.

The church has one of the finest fonts in Surrey, dated around 1120 and having unique sculptures.  There are several fine brasses (but no brass rubbing please) and behind the clergy stall on the left is an interesting sedilia monument commissioned by Erasmus Forde prior to his death in 1531.

The bells were mentioned in an inventory of 1552 and were increased to six in number in 1753. They were recast in 1962 and re-hung in a new frame in 1981.

The East Window is 20th century, set in 14th century tracery by Geoffrey Webb and depicts St Nicholas.

If you are keen to know more, we, ahem!, have our very own entry in Wikipedia at



St. Nicholas PCC, Thames Ditton is the Working Name of the registered charity: “The Parochial Church Council of the Ecclesiastical Parish of Thames Ditton”, registered number 1128454 (England and Wales).

St. Nicholas’ entry at the Charity Commission web site can be found at the Charity Commission.

© St Nicholas 2014